Walk in the Rain

This is something I wrote years back when I worked in Sydney. I found it again and have decided to share it with my fellow bloggers. It brings back fond memories and makes me laugh each time I read it. Hope you enjoy it too 🙂

Walk In the rain:

So the weather here is driving me crazzzzzzzzzzzzy. As i write this, I’m irritated and kinda drippin off the edges of my very pretty silk shirt.

I’m supposed to be joining a reporter on assignment today, so I get all dressed up, as is expected of the hacks here. I get up this morning, knowing from the weather forecast last night that its 23 degrees with a chance of rain today. I’m thinkin its gonna be a warm day with a bit of rain in the evening — as has been the case for the past two days. So I get dressed and am looking totally fabulous — if i may so myself:-) I’m wearing these smart black pants, my new, pretty silk shirt (very bad move on that one) and peep toe stilettoes (even worse move there). My hair is setting for once in this humid ickiness. I grab my umbrella (thank God that sense prevailed in atleast one area this morning) and handbag and make my way downstairs.

Clever old me, no lets make that clever ‘young’ me, gets downstairs and outside and am hit by heavy cloud cover and very heavy drizzle. Eish!!! Ok I’m based at the Sydney bureau this week — its a 20 minute walk from my apartment. I only have 10 minutes to get to work, so I cant go back up and change. I decide to be brave and make my way to work.

 Firstly, I hadn’t worn stilettos in a while. Secondly I’m wearing a silk shirt:-(:-( God help me, i think and start walking.

And then I realise, damn its also kinda windy this morning. So my umbrella is threatening to fly up on me and I grab it and hold it down tight. All that gyming and I dont have enough stregnth to keep it down. It still goes up, up and up. (Sammy u would know what I’m talking about here) So i have to close it, especially while I cross the road. By now the bottom half of my shirt is already wet. The other half of it and my hair have now also been exposed to the rain and oh what a messssss…. Oh but that’s not all, remember I’m wearing peep-toe stilletos. **sob, sob, sob** why, oh, why, dear God, did I not draw the curtains this morning to check what the weather is like and why in the world did I believe those weather guys. So my feet are sopping wet too, my sexy heels are not feelin so sexy anymore and I’m wishing I could crawl right back into bed.

By now, I’ve reached work, a whole 13-minutes late on my second day at the Sydney office. Now if this was Sapa and if I were boss on this not so fine morning, I would have been very upset with the person in question. Anyways the bureau chief here is cool and they take pity on poor little me and I stay in the office instead of going out. This kinda irritates me. I mean if I knew I was not going out, I would have worn jeans, flats and a normal top!!!!!! I would not have been drenched, as i would have been able to run, not to mention keep a hold on my umbrella, without worrying about falling down at the same time. All this trouble for niks…. eish!!!

 

About yasheera

#journo #writer #foodie #wine lover #heart #lovelife Hello World! Welcome to my world, to my blog :-) I have decided to start blogging for the simple reason that I love writing, it gives me pleasure and helps me free my mind. Being a journalist I get to write, but not quite the stuff I really want to write about... Blogging gives me that opportunity. I write about random stuff: travels, feelings, spirituality. It all depends on my mood and frame of mind. I always kept my writings to myself, a secret, have never allowed anyone to read it, but I think that needs to change. Sharing and connecting with the world seems to be a better idea:-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

