They Call it The Water of the Gods…

kochi3kochi6 kochi5 kochi kochi2 kochi7 kochi6 kochi4

Tucked away in a forest, beyond a wide lake and far from civilisation in Kochi, Kerala, is a little enclave where they make cotton and grow coconuts. Taking a boat through kilometres of breath-takingingly beautiful backwaters to reach this place is no chore at all. Step out of the boat and you’d think you’ve stepped onto an Indian film set in a village going back decades. A little house with a kitchen built outside and a square, brick temple in the middle of the courtyard where the Tulsi tree grows. Little lotas (brass pots) can be seen on the temple edge. Hindus offer jal (water) on the Tulsi tree to the Sun God every morning. The women of the house are coy, wearing saris and using one hand to bring the sari over their heads, covering half their faces. They have, however, made banana chips to sell to the tourists who come to the area. These chips are delicious. I haven’t tasted such finger-licking good crisps before. They don’t make them anywhere else either. I later regret not buying an extra packet to take back to the hotel. We’re then taken to see the two women who make cotton using hair from the coconuts. It’s all manual and I would imagine rough on the hands. The women smile happily for photographs while showing off their craft.
Kerala, located in south India is scorchers. Its people don’t know what a real winter is. The sun beats down on you, roasting and tanning any bit of skin left exposed. Being offered to buy some coconut water then is a welcome treat the tourists accept. Here, though, the coconuts come from the trees grown just metres away. The man in charge uses a sickle and in one quick swoop cuts off the top bit of the coconut. Just enough space to drink the water from. He amazingly doesn’t cut himself or any other part of the coconut.  Not a single coconut goes wasted because of his skill to accurately chop the top off. Each coconut is full to the brim with water. The tourists hesitantly take a sip. And then graciously gulp the rest of it down. The water is delicious. They call it ‘the water of the God’s’ here. After drinking it, you’d know why. It’s cold, but not too cold and sweet. Divinely delicious – for lack of better words to describe it.  It does not taste like the coconut water I’ve had anywhere else. This water is also fresh, free of preservatives and loaded with vitamins good for your skin and general health. Who needs cool drinks, iced tea or bottled water if you have this growing in your backyard. The locals, while proud of their land, don’t really realise how lucky they are to cultivate these coconuts nor are they aware of the beauty they live amidst. The backwaters are vast and slowly making your way down the lakes in wooden boats introduces you to postcard-perfect scenery at every turn. Each sight more beautiful than the previous one. Quiet and serene, a wonderful getaway from the actual bustling, busy city of Kochi. Billboards advertising the place as ‘God’s own Country’ do not lie. Pictures do not do justice its beauty!

About yasheera

#journo #writer #foodie #wine lover #heart #lovelife Hello World! Welcome to my world, to my blog :-) I have decided to start blogging for the simple reason that I love writing, it gives me pleasure and helps me free my mind. Being a journalist I get to write, but not quite the stuff I really want to write about... Blogging gives me that opportunity. I write about random stuff: travels, feelings, spirituality. It all depends on my mood and frame of mind. I always kept my writings to myself, a secret, have never allowed anyone to read it, but I think that needs to change. Sharing and connecting with the world seems to be a better idea:-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They Call it The Water of the Gods…

  1. I enjoyed reading about my state. People who visit the place always have a different opinion that people who actually live here. May be, we are too close.
    Although I think that the people in Kerala do know the value of coconuts. How else do you explain the fact that every house with atleast a few cents of spare land has a coconut tree jutting out of it? 😀

  2. I completely forgot banana chips existed! Until now 🙂 Yum. I can’t wait to see Kochi one day…

Leave a Reply

